Makita Press Releases  


Monday, January 11, 2010

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, January 11, 2010


Austin Stroupe debut's in 450 class, grabs holeshot!

Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey made an amazing Supercross debut on Saturday night in Anaheim, taking the second spot on the podium and earning 22 points in the overall standings. The rookie took all he learned from his Supercross Lites Championships in 2009 and applied it to an amazing effort in his first race aboard the RM-Z450 in the big show at Angel Stadium.

Dungey had the second-fastest lap time in practice and remained consistent throughout practice and qualifying. At the drop of the gate for the main, Dungey and his fuel-injected RM-Z450 shot out of the gate like a canon, grabbing the holeshot. He continued to put distance between himself and James Stewart, who was in second place. Dungey led for an astounding 17 laps amidst the roar of the crowd, who stood and cheered the entire 19-minute race. As lappers began to factor into the race, Dungey gave up the lead to Stewart but didn’t give up the race. Dungey battled the final three laps, nearly overtaking Stewart on the last lap. At the wave of the checkered flag, Dungey took the second spot on the podium.

Austin Stroupe also made his Supercross debut on Saturday night. The 19 year old is set to compete in the Supercross Lites East series, but due to an injury to teammate Matt Moss, Stroupe will race the first few rounds of the 450 class. Stroupe grabbed the holeshot in the second qualifier, ahead of James Stewart. In the main event Stroupe completed four laps before succumbing to a mistake that took him out of the race.

The Rockstar Makita Suzuki team is preparing for the next round of Supercross racing at Chase Field in Phoenix, Arizona, on January 16.

AMA Supercross

1 #1 James M Stewart, L&M Racing/San Manuel Yamaha

2 #5 Ryan M Dungey, Rockstar/Makita/Suzuki/Yoshimura

3 #14 Kevin W Windham, Gieco Powersports/Honda/Factory Connecti

4 #29 Andrew T Short, Honda Red Bull Racing

5 #2 Ryan D Villopoto, Monster Energy Kawasaki

6 #75 Joshua R Hill, SanManuelBandofMissionIndians

7 #9 Ivan Tedesco , Valli Motorsports

8 #23 Justin D Brayton, Muscle Milk/Toyota/JGR/Yamaha

9 #18 David Millsaps, Honda Red Bull Racing

10 #8 Grant Langston, J Law Racing


AMA Supercross Lites - West

1 #12 Jake T Weimer, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit

2 #38 Trey G Canard, Geico Powersports Honda

3 #116 Ryan Morais, Rockstar Energy Suzuki Canidae

4 #21 Blake Wharton, Geico Powersports Honda

5 #49 Wil A Hahn, TLD/ Lucas Oil/Honda

6 #20 Broc Tickle, DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha

7 #19 Tommy Searle, Factory FMF/KTM/Motorex/Dunlop

8 #100 Joshua Hansen, Monster Energy/Pro Circuit

9 #48 Max Anstie, DNA Shred Stix/Star Racing Yamaha

10 #801 Jeff Alessi, Motoconcepts/Yamaha/FMF/Oneal




Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.