Makita Press Releases  


Monday, June 15, 2009

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, June 15, 2009


Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Dungey podiums in the 250 class

Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Chad Reed celebrated his first AMA Motocross win in seven years and took over the championship points lead on Saturday afternoon at High Point Raceway in Mt. Morris, Pennsylvania. The two-time AMA Supercross Champion won both 30-minute 450 class motos to take the overall victory. Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Michael Byrne also had cause to celebrate at High Point. The Australian returned to racing from injury this season and has been slowly but surely rebuilding his strength. On Saturday, he picked up his best finish of the year so far with a fourth-place overall result thanks to fourth- and fifth-place moto finishes. Finally, Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate and former championship points leader Mike Alessi did not race. Unfortunately, he crashed prior to the High Point event and broke his kneecap. Alessi underwent successful surgery and hopes to be back racing as soon as possible.


In the 250 class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Ryan Dungey captured second place overall after carding third- and second-place moto finishes. In the first moto, Dungey overcame two get-offs to rally and secure a third-place finish. In the second 30-minute moto, the Minnesotan simply put his head down and rode a smooth, consistent race to finish second.


AMA Motocross 450 Class Top 10 Overall Event Finishers:

1. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

2. Andrew Short, Honda

3. Ivan Tedesco, Honda

4. Michael Byrne, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

5. Cody Cooper, Yamaha

6. Ricky Dietrich, Kawasaki

7. Nick Wey, Yamaha

8. Josh Grant, Yamaha

9. Justin Brayton, KTM

10. Thomas Hahn, Kawasaki

AMA Motocross 250 Class Top 10 Overall Event Finishers:

1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki

2. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing

3. Tommy Searle, KTM

4. Tyla Rattray, Kawasaki

5. Blake Wharton, Honda

6. Justin Barcia, Honda

7. Broc Tickle, Yamaha

8. Matt Lemoine, Yamaha

9. Kyle Cunningham, Kawasaki

10. Trey Canard, Honda



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.