Makita Press Releases  


Monday, February 23, 2009

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Monday, February 23, 2009


Rockstar Makita Suzuki's Izzi captures his 2nd podium in SX Lites

Round 8 – AMA Supercross Series
Atlanta, Georgia
Georgia Dome
Feb. 21, 2009
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Chad Reed captured his seventh-straight second-place finish at Atlanta’s Georgia Dome on Saturday night. The two-time, defending AMA Supercross Champion holeshot and led all laps of his heat race before going on to capture the runner-up position in the 20-lap main. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammates Mike Alessi finished up in 11th, while Michael Byrne -- struggled after having been injured for most of the season -- crashed out of his heat race and did not race the main.
In the Supercross Lites class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Nico Izzi bounced back after nasty crashes during practice and his heat race to win the LCQ. Then, in the 15-lap main event, Izzi got a good start on his Rockstar Makita Suzuki RM-Z250 and rode most of the race in third place before finishing in second. Currently, Izzi is in second place in the overall championship points chase.
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing will race next at Lucas Oil Stadium in Indianapolis, Indiana, on Saturday, Feb. 28, 2009.
Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #1:
2nd Place – Atlanta Supercross and 2nd Place – Overall Championship Points

 Mike Alessi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #800:
11th Place– Atlanta Supercross and 9th Place – Overall Championship Points

Michael Byrne, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z450, #26:
DNR – Atlanta Supercross and NA – Overall Championship Points

 Nico Izzi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing RM-Z250, #20:
2nd Place – Atlanta Supercross Lites and 2nd Place-- Overall Championship Points

AMA Supercross Top 10 Finishers:
1. James Stewart, Yamaha (Holeshot)
2. Chad Reed, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Ryan Villopoto, Kawasaki
4. Andrew Short, Honda
5. Broc Hepler, Yamaha
6. Kevin Windham, Honda
7. Ivan Tedesco, Honda
8. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki
9. Josh Hill, Yamaha
10. Davi Millsaps, Honda
AMA Supercross Lites Top 10 Finishers:
1. Christophe Pourcel, Kawasaki
2. Nico Izzi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing
3. Martin Davalos, KTM
4. Blake Wharton, Honda
5. Branden Jesseman, Kawasaki
6. Wil Hahn, KTM
7. Austin Stroupe, Kawasaki (Holeshot)
8. Matt Lemoine, Yamaha
9. Matthew Goerke, Suzuki
10. Steven Clarke, Suzuki



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.