Makita Press Releases  


Tuesday, September 2, 2008

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Tuesday, September 2, 2008


Rockstar Makita Suzuki’s Byrne fourth overall in final ’08 MX
Round 12 – AMA Motocross Series
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Steel City Raceway
August 29 - 30, 2008
Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Ryan Dungey ended the 2008 AMA Motocross Lites season by winning both Motocross Lites motos and taking the overall victory at Steel City Raceway in Delmont, Pennsylvania, on Saturday afternoon. Dungey celebrated an impressive season, with three MX Lites wins and six additional podium finishes. The young Minnesota rider finished the season in
second place overall. Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Nico Izzi followed Dungey home in second place overall, thanks to fifth- and second-place moto finishes. Izzi’s rookie season saw him pick up two podium finishes this year, two top-five results and four top-10 finishes. Overall, Izzi was fifth place overall in the MX Lites Championship.
In the Motocross class, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing’s Michael Byrne also finished the AMA Motocross season on a high note. For the Australian rider, “four” was the magic number: He brought home two fourth-place moto finishes for fourth overall at Steel City, and this year saw Byrne capture four podium finishes. Finally, he rounded out the season in fourth place overall in the championship.
AMA Motocross Top 10 (Moto Finishes)
1. James Stewart, Kawasaki, 1-1
2. Tim Ferry, Kawasaki, 2-2
3. Broc Hepler, Yamaha, 3-3
4. Michael Byrne, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing, 4-4
5. Andrew Short, Honda, 5-7
6. Jimmy Albertson, Honda, 7-6
7. Sean Hamblin, Yamaha, 6-9
8. Josh Hill, Yamaha, 11-5
9. Ivan Tedesco, Honda, 9-8
10. Matt Boni, Honda, 13-11
AMA Motocross Lites Top 10 (Moto Finishes):
1. Ryan Dungey, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing, 1-1
2. Nico Izzi, Rockstar Makita Suzuki Factory Racing, 5-2
3. Jake Weimer, Honda, 6-3
4. Brett Metcalfe, Kawasaki, 3-6
5. Broc Tickle, Yamaha, 9-4
6. Blake Wharton, Honda, 7-9
7. Matt Lemoine, Yamaha, 2-32
8. Phillip Nicoletti, Kawasaki, 8-13
9. Kyle Chisholm, Kawasaki, 18-5
10. Steven Clarke, Suzuki, 16-7



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.