Makita Press Releases  


Tuesday, July 15, 2008

Wayne Hart
Communications Manager
Makita U.S.A.
(714) 522-8088 x 4410

(800) 4-MAKITA

Tuesday, July 15, 2008


It was another successful day for Rockstar Makita Suzuki, as Doug Gust (#55) took the overall victory at Round 9 of the ITP Tires / Moose Racing AMA / ATVA National Motocross Championship in Johnstown, PA. Championship leader Dustin Wimmer (#191) maintained his series lead with a strong podium finish while Chad Wienen (#44) suffered an unfortunate electronic problem in moto one, hampering his overall for the day.

In the first moto, Wimmer secured a great start, but settled for a safe third place, while Rockstar Makita Suzuki teammate Doug Gust, also starting well, finished one spot ahead in second after a close battle for the lead.

When the gates fell for the second moto, Gust grabbed the holeshot, with Wimmer close behind. The two set an incredible pace at the front, and near the midpoint of the race, Wimmer made his move into the lead. His lead was short lived, however, as a downpour of rain began drenching the track. While pushing hard in the rain, Wimmer made a mistake and relinquished his lead to Gust. The veteran rider was not fazed by the conditions and proceeded to set a blazing pace to the checkered flag that could not be matched. The win gave Gust his second overall victory this season (2-1). Wimmer crossed the line in 4th, good enough for third overall (3-4), while Wienen finished a strong 5th for twelfth overall (20-5).  

Dustin Wimmer\'s podium finish allowed him to extend his points lead to a massive 79 points! One more strong finish could very well secure the championship! Rockstar Makita Suzuki continues to dominate the Manufacturers\' Cup!


ATV Motocross Nationals Series Points Standings as of 7/14/2008
ITP/Moose AMA/ATVA National MX Championship

1st - DUSTIN WIMMER- 367 Points
2nd - JOE BYRD- 288 Points
3rd - DOUGLAS GUST- 280 Points
4th - JOSH CREAMER- 242 Points
5th - JEREMY LAWSON- 233 Points
6th - JOHN NATALIE JR- 214 Points
7th - HAROLD GOODMAN- 209 Points
8th - JOSH UPPERMAN- 182 Points
9th - CHAD WIENEN- 174 Points
10th - ROCCO ARNO JR- 164 Points



Trademarks: Makita®, LXT®, AVT® and the Makita logo, Teal color and Black & White color combination are the registered trademarks of Makita.
The other trademarks, service marks and logos displayed in the Website are registered and unregistered trademarks of Makita and others.
Nothing contained on this Makita site should be construed as granting, by implication, estoppel, or otherwise, any license or right to use any trademark displayed on this site without the written permission of Makita or such third party that owns the trademark.